My First Time Abroad

Studying abroad was something I always wanted to do, but never thought was possible during my undergraduate career. As a biochemistry major at a small school, I have many classes I need to take that are also limited in when they are offered. Thankfully, my school has a study abroad program called “In-Focus” which is perfect for students like me who want to study abroad, but have a hard time dedicating an entire semester to it.

The In-Focus program I had my heart set on was called Old Italy, New Italy. Many of my sorority sisters went on it in years past and after living vicariously through their pictures and memories, I was determined to attend the program myself. The program takes place the three weeks after spring semester ends. The participants spend one week studying on campus, followed by two weeks studying in Italy. Its name, Old Italy, New Italy is a concise summary of the program’s focus: a comparison of ancient and modern Italian religion, politics, art, and lifestyle.

After some convincing of my parents, hours spent mentally planning outfits/packing, and a week’s worth of Italian history and language (ciao, arriverdverci, vino – the essentials) under my belt, I was on a plane with two of my best friends from Chicago O’Hare to Rome Fiumicino.

We stayed at a satellite college campus and it was absolutely incredible. We lived in a villa, ate home cooked Italian cuisine for every breakfast and dinner, and spent our downtime lounging at the pool or on the terrace. Every day consisted of a new adventure, so it was nice to have a relaxing place to come home to.

We spent two weeks visiting all the sites Rome had to offer: the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Vatican City, the Spanish Steps, and so much more. It was the most freeing feeling to explore and navigate a foreign country with my friends and classmates. Obviously one of my favorite aspects of Italy was the food. I refuse to eat gelato in America because I don’t want to ruin the memory I have of it, ha!

For me, the highlight of the trip was when we got the opportunity to choose where we wanted to go for the weekend. A majority of my classmates went to other major cities like Florence, Naples, and Venice, but my friends and I were determined to break the “norm” and go somewhere else. After scrolling through Pinterest, Tumblr, and travel sites, we had our hearts set on a place called Cinque Terre.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

There are no words to describe how beautiful Cinque Terre is. The name Cinque Terre is Italian for Five Lands, representing the chain of five seaside villages connected by trails. The hikes between the villages were difficult (especially with the belongings of three women shoved into a Vera Bradley backpack on your back), but the views made it so worth it.

Leah, Morgan, and I mid-hike in Cinque Terre.

Although I only spent two weeks abroad, I learned more about myself than I have in an entire year. I learned how to communicate, navigate, and say yes to new opportunities. I grew in confidence, acceptance, and patience. I gained an appreciation for the most beautiful culture and now have the strongest itch to visit as much of the world as I possibly can. Going abroad was a life changing experience and I recommend it to anyone considering it.

 

Leave a comment